Back in the Habit

imageWell it has been a beautiful day! It hit seventy degrees, and was sunny! That is MY kind of November weather!

Today was definitely the warmest day for a while, and despite the warmer weather, I opted to get back in the habit of having a warm breakfast of Super Chocolatey Protein Oats. It was all that sounded good! :)

Even though the weather has typically been getting colder, I have been eating Greek Yogurt bowls and smoothies for breakfast recently, so the warm oats were a nice change!

For lunch today, I had a nice, homemade, freshly prepared salad brought from home. I definitely did NOT buy this hurriedly, on my way to Calc, because I, once again, forgot to take lunch.

image

Yea… who would do that? ;) Even if it DOES look oddly familiar to this salad.

Since I had some things to do after school, I did not get a work out in during my usual time. I got home, ate a snack, then waited a bit and decided to wait and work out before dinner. After exercising, I was starving and was not about to wait around to cook. Yay for five minute dinners!
image
image
A salad with lettuce, red bell peppers, black pepper, and red wine vinegar served as my side to a Caramelized Onion and Swiss Chicken Burger from Sam’s Club!

image
These burgers are awesome! I did not have high hopes for them, considering the fact that they are precooked and I simply nuked in the microwave, but I was pleasantly surprised! Definitely not the best chicken I have had, but I enjoyed this burger a ton, especially since I was ravenous and I had dinner finished in under five minutes. The nutrition and ingredients on these babies aren’t bad either! They are made with all natural ingredients, gluten free, have 180 calories, and 20 grams of protein! That is MY kind of quick meal!

So wow! You guys probably do not know who this blogger is considering I have not taken pictures of my food in so long! Guess I am getting back in the habit!

Today’s Questions:

  1. Do you prefer hot or cold breakfasts? Does this change with the seasons?
  2. Is anyone else having unseasonably warm weather and loving it as much as I am?
  3. What are your favorite super fast dinners? 

About Sweet and Savvy

My name is Savannah and I am a teenage girl and a complete optimist with passions for learning, helping people, nutrition and enjoying every minute of life to its fullest!

Posted on November 14, 2011, in Dietary Needs, Gluten Free, healthy lifestyle, Meals. Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. I tend to stick with oatmeal year round (mostly) warm. My favorite super fast dinner is a bowl of cereal!

    Also, those caramelized onion and swiss chicken burgers sound amazing – i wish i belonged to Sam’s club just so I could get some!

  2. Our weather has been pretty warm too! In the mornings I wear a big jacket to school because it’s still chilly, but I feel so silly carrying it with me in the afternoon. Those burgers sound really good. I LOVE carmelized onions. Frozen veggies and frozen veggie burgers are a staple in my diet because they are so quick and easy!

  3. Those burgers look really good! Eating healthy when you have limited time is so hard that it’s great to find new ideas! I’ve started eating chocolate oats for a late-night snack actually. It helps me sleep well (probably because of the warmth) and I feel like it’s less unhealthy than just chocolate. Or ice cream. Or tons of cookies, which is normally what I feel like haha.

    My quick dinners are normally soup and toast (especially in winter) or a salad with spinach, pre-cooked Trader Joe’s lentils and whatever veggies I have in quick reach.

  4. Heck yeah quick dinners! Most weeknights are so difficult to get a super good meal going. I love veggie burgers for this reason.

    It has been cool in the morning, but not oatmeal weather for me yet. I’ll keep sticking to cereal :)

  5. I was heading to Sam’s club this weekend. Those burgers look amazing. I am currently obsessed with caramelized onions.

  6. Haha I’m still eating yogurt and frozen blueberries for breakfast because it hasn’t cooled off yet here in VA! Granted, it’ll probably get cold and I’ll STILL eat cold breakfast… haha

  7. I love warm breakfasts. Oatmeal is my staple, as is soy-cocoa. If I have a cold breakfast, it is in the summer-time or after a hot work out (its usually a bowl of Kashi GoLean original cereal with berries and soymilk, topped with cinnamon or cocoa powder).
    I live in Washington State, and it’s freezing here! Lots of wind, power-outtages on the way, and snow for Thanksgiving possibly. Brrrr! I hate it. I’m a warm weather girl!
    My favorite super fast dinner is either couscous (1/4 cup cooked on the stove takes less than 7 minutes) or a microwaved potato. Both can be served with a side of heated brocollie on the stove, and a quick sallad with Nanako Garlic vinegar. Being a vegan, I also microwave one of my many varieties of brand protein veggie burgers (Boca, Dr. Praeger, Trader Joes, Morningstar, Gardenburger, Amy’s…. depends on what is available and what sounds good, or what goes with the dish!).
    That to me is a quick dinner. Total time: less than 11 minutes!!!

  8. I usually eat hot breakies year round! Love mah oats :)

  9. oatmeal is my go-to dinner on weekdays…hahah it seems weird but i hardly have anytime to make food before school so i stick with a banana+nut butter and some sort of carb.
    then when i get home, oats are always calling my name!

  10. that burger looks great- i absolutely love onions! yum

  11. I usually go with a cold breakfast. Lately I have been enjoying yogurt chia seed puddings for breakfast :)

  12. I like cold and warm breakfasts. Sometimes, I’ll have a warm breakfast even when its hot outside.. Yeah Im cool like that. :P
    Your so lucky your having nice weather! Its so cold where I live and I turn into a human popsicle the minute I step outside..
    That burger sounds great!

  13. Usually once I feel a chill in the air-oatmeal it is-but this year smoothies are sticking around a tad bit longer! I love it! :D

  14. I think I prefer cold breakfasts all year round.. I love overnight oats and yogurt so much. I generally don’t have enough time to make something warm before work, but hey, can’t do much about that. To be honest, I’d love to get a little more of that ‘Fall’ weather up in here! It’s incredibly warm and almost Thanksgiving!

  15. I wish it was unseasonably warm here…but Im going on vacay soon so I can’t complain :)

  16. I really love my freshly-cooked oats in the morning. It doesn’t really changed according to season…..

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

