Winner

It is a three day weekend. The weather has been beautiful. What could be better?

Well, I won a giveaway!

Averie hosted a Natural Energy & Protein Drinks Giveaway featuring products from CalNaturale Svelte. I have entered quite a few blogger giveaways, but I never really expect that I would be lucky enough to win one, but looks like I am having a pretty fortunate weekend! Smile Thanks, Averie! I cannot wait to try these products!

Needless to say, getting online to check my email this morning was pretty exciting. I also saw the headline of an article on Huffington Post that intrigued me.

The article was titled, “6 Simple Ways To Eat Healthier.” In this article, the six actions described to make a healthier you were as follows:

  1. Cook for yourself.
  2. Eat local foods that are in season.
  3. Buy fresh.
  4. Eat mostly vegetables.
  5. Snack healthier.
  6. Eat organic.

 

 

(Source)

I think these are great tips to living a healthier life. When I did not eat well and had no concept of nutrition, I never cooked for myself. If I did cook by myself, it included Easy Mac about 95% of the time. Cooking for yourself avoids so many unhealthy ingredients that restaurants add unnecessarily. Cooking at home also saves a lot of mulah.

(Source)

This summer was the first summer I ever took a trip to a Farmer’s Market. I never realized the wonder of shopping locally. In season foods taste so much better. Though I do not eat in season, fresh, and locally close to all the time, it would be preferential. Fresh foods taste so much better, and if it tastes better, you’re much more likely to eat it. I know I sure am. Fresh apples from the Farmer’s Market? You better hide them unless you want the entire lot devoured in about 1.5 hours days.

Speaking of apples, those delicious things make the best snacks, hands down. Smart snacking is SUCH an important factor in healthy eating. It is hard to turn down a good, homemade cookie from time to time, but honestly, an apple and yogurt is so much more filling and satisfying than half a bag of chips or handfuls of Oreos. 

(Source)

Today’s Questions:

  1. Have you ever won a giveaway?
  2. Do you think these are good tips for a healthy lifestyle?
  3. What are your favorite healthy eating tips?

About Sweet and Savvy

My name is Savannah and I am a teenage girl and a complete optimist with passions for learning, helping people, nutrition and enjoying every minute of life to its fullest!

Posted on November 12, 2011, in healthy lifestyle, Random Tangents and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. Oooh lucky you for winning a giveaway!! I’ve won a few.. the best one was the time I won homemade nut butter! It was amaaaazing.
    I love all those tips and quite honestly, I think that the simpler and shorter the tips, the better. Kind of like Michael Pollan’s food rules. Sometimes things get way too complex when eating healthy is actually quite simple!

  2. Ah giveaways are so much fun! They are all good healthy eating tips. Personally, I have to plan my meals (especially dinners)in advance for the week, or I will end up eating those microwave meals! If I have healthy meals set up (usually leftovers), it takes the pressure off after a long day at work.

  3. Congrats on your win :D I can’t imagine how exciting that would be!

  4. I’ve only won one giveaway but is so exciting to win haha. Great tips btw! :)

  5. LuckyDucky! Hahaa I’ve won a few giveaways actually! Love it haha :)

  6. Yay! Congrats on winning the giveaway! :) I’ve only won one blogger giveaway :)
    I think those are great tips! One of my tips is to not deprive yourself and to eat junk foods in moderation and to not keep unhealthy food in the house. :)

  7. I LOVE being able to buy my produce from the farmer’s market!

  8. ive won one giveaway- a fiber one giveaway (i didnt like the cereal at all though, boo) im hoping ill win another in the near future! :)

  9. yayyyy! congrats on winning!
    i remember i freaked out when i won my first giveaway! it was awesome!

  10. Congrats on winning the giveaway! I have my fingers crossed that maybe one day I’ll be lucky enough to win one. I love your tips for eating healthier, they are so true!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

