I’ve Been Converted

First off.

Wow. Thank you all so much for the amazing response on my last post about my troubles with fitting blogging into my currently hectic life. I am so glad that so many people could agree, and it made me realize that there is no pressure on me to pump out a subpar post every day just so that I can “keep up” with blogging. It also really reinforced that my life must come before hobbies, like blogging. I love blogging, so I hope to be able to post as much as I can and remain a part of this growing community, sharing my story.

Today’s thankfulness: I am SO thankful for the fact that I had an early release from school today, AND have a three day weekend. Need I say more? :) 

Since I missed What I Ate Wednesday yesterday. (oh no!) I thought I would share with you a little bit of the food I have been eating.

Ever since virtually cutting out gluten from my diet, I have not eaten pasta. Growing up in an area with heavy Italian influence, pasta is a staple in everyone’s diet. Oddly enough, I have not missed pasta at all since going gluten free. It just has not sounded very appealing… but the other day, I decided it was time to get my pasta fix.

A couple weeks ago at Kroger’s, my mom found this Quinoa pasta on sale, so she picked me up a couple boxes.

I wanted to try this pasta out, and to my delight, this quinoa pasta had a great flavor and I honestly did not think it tasted different from any other pasta!

Pasta, being straight carbs, is not the most satisfying and filling meal to me. I still wanted to get my veggies in, but still have a hearty dish.

image

image

So, since I am not Italian and do not normally have real pasta sauce laying around, I decided to crack open a jar of this stuff.

I thought it was great, and added a little Italian Seasoning and Oregano to give it an extra punch of flavor! And thus, I had a great meal of Easy Veggies and Pasta! It included:

  • 1/2 cup of Pasta Sauce
  • 2 small zucchinis
  • 1 cup of green beans roasted in black pepper, Mrs. Dash, and Italian seasoning
  • 3/4 cup of pasta

Easy, huge, and delicious! I made Zucchini Noodles following how they did on the a Zucchini Ribbon recipe on Food Network.

image

image

Onto other food news in Savannahland, I told you guys a while back that I did NOT like Greek yogurt, and that I really wanted to like it.

Many of you gave great advice and said that if I kept trying different types in different ways, I would eventually like it.

You were right! I have officially jumped on the Greek yogurt train!

image

My favorite ways to eat it are with some Stevia, and some pudding mix thrown in.

image

These are all pictures of today’s breakfast which was a mix of

  • 1 cup Plain Greek Yogurt
  • 1 tablespoon of ground flax
  • 1 tsp chocolate pudding mix
  • 2 tsp cheesecake pudding mix
  • splash of almond milk
  • large handful (or two) of Attune Crispy Brown Rice Cereal

<3 it was delicious.

image

So thanks guys, for encouraging me to KEEP EATING GREEK YOGURT, and to keep trying different ways, because I have a new favorite snack/breakfast/food. Smile 

Today’s Questions:

  1. Do like healthifying traditional comfort foods, or do you prefer to indulge on the original versions sparingly?
  2. Have you tried pasta made of things other than traditional wheat, like this quinoa pasta? Thoughts?
  3. Do you eat Greek yogurt? What’s your favorite way to have it?
About Sweet and Savvy

My name is Savannah and I am a teenage girl and a complete optimist with passions for learning, helping people, nutrition and enjoying every minute of life to its fullest!

Posted on November 10, 2011, in Gluten Free, healthy lifestyle, Meals, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 28 Comments.

  1. Greek yogurt is amazing! I’m picky about mine, too. I only like one kind, and one kind only. Oikos plain 0% Greek yogurt in the BIG tin haha. The small cups just have a funny taste to them. And I don’t know how I could live my life without pasta! I wanna try that quinoa stuff though.

  2. I loooove Greek yogurt! I have some every mornig! Usually I’ll throw it in a yogurt mess but lately I’ve been making a dip out of it with syrup and cinnamon and then dipping strawberries into it. It’s amazing!

    Kaydee at findingkaydee.wordpress.com

  3. I love Greek yogurt! There are soo many ways you can eat it! :) Have you tried making Greek yogurt pancakes? :)
    I like adding berries to my Greek yogurt..oh an cereal too! :)

  4. we use quinoa pasta too!!! its great isn’t it!?

  5. Glad you jumped on the Greek yogurt bandwagon! Definitely try the pineapple Chobani.

  6. I have black bean pasta in the cabinet that I have yet to dive into. It’s really high protein so I’m interested to see how it tastes! I’m so glad you found a way to enjoy greek yogurt – I love adding pudding mix to it too! It makes it super thick and gives it a fun flavor.

  7. greek yog sounds so good but i wish it didnt hav dairy :P

  8. Oh I love greek yoghurt – moreso with savoury meals, like rice/cous cous salads, baked chicken/fish, anything really! I’ve only ever tried rice pasta, although I’m very keen to try quinoa pasta.. not sure that we have it here in Aus but I will keep an eye out :) And I definitely love healthifying traditional comfort foods, can’t go wrong with extra veggies!

  9. Oooh! I’ve never tried quinoa pasta before! My family loves brown rice pasta :)

  10. I’ve never tried greek yogourt, which kind of makes me nervous, because I think that I might get kicked out of blogworld. I’ll try it someday! I definitely like “healthifying” by adding veggies to dishes. I’m not a huge fan of salad or raw veggies, so if I don’t cook with vegetables, then I don’t eat vegetables.

  11. we are not big pasta people but are family likes and he Gary likes it so yes I try to make them gluten free or even spelt pasta instead of plain white pasta. never had greek yogurt but our mom loves it. lately we have been enjoying goat and coconut yogurt :)

  12. I love Greek yogurt! I usually get the small flavored kinds of Oikos, but I think plain is even better because you can customize it.

    I’ve never tried a gluten free pasta, but I’d love to try that quinoa pasta because I really like quinoa!

  13. Girl, I go through tubs of Greek yogurt it’s sickening ;) FAV FOOD.

  14. We had that same pasta a while ago. It’s so much better than rice pasta. I didn’t really like Quinoa at first, but it’s def. growing on me.

  15. i love greek yogurt! love. i always would buy vanilla until i realized how much sugar it has. now i buy plain and use it for everything – even in mexican salad as a sour cream substitute. so good :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

