You Get Out What You Put In

You may have noticed a few changes while reading Sweet and Savvy lately.

The two major changes have happened.

1. I have not been posting my meals or food as frequently.

2. I have not been posting every day. Or on any consistent basis, actually.

There are many small reasons for this, but it all comes down to the same basic fact. I am busy. I have a lot of homework, I am trying to get a work out in regularly, I have colleges to apply for. I have scholarships to find, I have meals to microwave cook, and I’m trying to not be a recluse all the time with my fingers glued to the laptop. This last thing actually has not been working out, since I feel like I am always doing research or writing papers, but that is a different, non fun and leisurely way to spend my time online. I’d much rather be on Pinterest or blogging.

(Source)

So truth be told, I have been kind of out of the loop with the whole blogosphere. I am not tweeting as much. I am not commenting on other posts as much, and I am not even reading as many posts as I would like.

The posts that I have written have not been my best. I do not publish anything I deem to be “bad”, but these posts have often been thrown together at the last minute because I feel like something is better than nothing.

Pinned Image

(source)

Guess what. You get out what you put in. My blog readership has gone down, oops. Not by a lot, and not that I hang off of my site stat numbers, but this signals to me that my readers really care about what I have to say, and enjoy reading what comes from my heart. This is an amazing fact. I think it is kind of crazy that people actually like reading what I have to say. It means a lot. I write posts because I enjoy it. Blogging is cathartic for me, and I would love sharing my story with even one reader.

This has also made me realize that I want to put my all into everything I post. Even though I may not have time to do it every day, I want all of my posts to be 100% Savannah. Something of quality that I would brag about. I’m sure you all will appreciate that, right? So I am sorry, because I may not be posting as much now, but at the moment, I cannot. I must prioritize other things before blogging, as much as I hate to say it.

Pinned Image

(source)

 

Oh, and I did not forget about my Thankful Challenge! What am I thankful for today?

You! My readers, and the fact that I have been lucky enough to have been able to use my writing to bring people enjoyment!

So I have been talking about the not so positive aspects of getting out what you put in. On the other hand, my time that has not been spent blogging has been well spent. Once again, you get out what you put in.

1. I have spent a ton of time studying, but it has paid off. I currently am holding an A in all of my classes.

2. I have been accepted to one university so far, and at this university, I have also made it through the first round of its Honor’s College application process.

3. I have been spending quality time with people I love. This is what is most important.

4. I have been successful in working out on a more consistent basis, and my body is feeling it. I feel so much better, and my muscles are growing stronger. I am not tearing up the weight room or ready to train for a marathon by any means, but for me, I am making great progress. A little is better than nothing in this situation by a ton!

Pinned Image

(Source)

I feel kind of weird talking about my successes. Is that weird? I feel like I am “bragging”, but why is bragging such a bad thing? This brings me to a few questions:

1. If you blog, how to you fit blogging in?

2. What are the best, stress free, time management tips?

3. How did you handle the college transition?

4. Do you feel weird bragging about your successes?

About Sweet and Savvy

My name is Savannah and I am a teenage girl and a complete optimist with passions for learning, helping people, nutrition and enjoying every minute of life to its fullest!

Posted on November 7, 2011, in blogging, healthy lifestyle, more serious things and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 29 Comments.

  1. This a heartful, down to earth post I enjoyed reading. I admire you for setting your priorities straight unlike me ha. I cook & blog first, then deal with school. But your true ‘fans’ aha will always be here. So do what makes you happy and more successful in the end :)
    My priorities are friends&family, cooking, blogging, then school/homework. No bueno haha :)

  2. You’re right, life takes priority to blogging. I struggled with watching my readership drop, but that’s normal because everyone wants to be popular. Once it stabilizes, it gets easier because there are always that group of people you can count on to be reading. What I usually do is just draft posts in my spare time. Take a whole bunch of pictures- group ‘em into a post. Your content seems to be consistently good too. Perhaps your numbers are going down because people are busy too, and therefore don’t have time to blog-read either. You’re doing well girlie, don’t be too hard on yourself. Congrats on being accepted, too.

  3. lovely post! i know how this feel exactly! a lot of times u need to LIVE instead of blog. ya know?

  4. Life happens! These are the years you want to remember, not spend behind a computer. This is one of the reasons why I cut down from 3 posts a day– it was just too tedious and I felt like I was missing out on life.

    Keep doing what you’re doing :) We’ll be here!

  5. This is a great, honest post! I think you are doing the right thing enjoying everything going on right now. It is an exciting time, and you have to do what makes you happy! :) I look forward to hearing more about your future plans!

  6. Great post!!! I am glad that you are making a desicion that will be good for you! It’s that time of year where we all need to catch up and slow down and realize the beauty of life!!!

  7. I totally feel ya on this. I wrote a very similar post a couple days ago b/c I was having such a hard time fitting blogging in with the rest of my life..mainly work. I try to remember that blogging is a hobby and should be fun!

  8. I completely agree. I posted everyday during the summer- but it was because I had time and more to say. Right now, I have to focus on other things and I don’t want to just throw together a post just to have a post. I really love your thoughtful posts as well as all the foodie ones! I find that blogging every other night works best – I read and comment on blogs more on one day and write my own blog on the other day.
    Congrats on getting through on the first round of the honors program! Applying is so stressful, but we’ll know soon enough :)

  9. i love this post. i can totally feel your emotion coming through. and the way i keep up with life and blogging is by writing some blogs ahead of time. if i have a lot of time over the weekend, i will whip out a few posts. and the best way to deal with the college transition is to find a good group of friends. they will help you destress and have fun

  10. Great post, Savannah! <3

    I looovee to read blogs everyday but try to get everything that I need to get done (homework, chores, studying etc.) before I do. It also motivates me to get things done faster! :)
    My best stress free and time management tips are to make a plan and stick to it. :)

  11. Girl I am in the same boat! I have been posting less and focusing on school and exercising and spending time with family. There are priorities! I love blogging and I’d much rather post when I have meaningful things to say less often then posting 3 times a day. How many time do people want to see me eat cereal and salad? I don’t think that would be too interesting ;) So post when you have time and when you have a good post ready :D No pressure !

  12. Great post girl! Sometimes I feel the exact same way! :)

  13. I try to stay on a M/W/F schedule, because that just seemed to be the right amount for me. Usually inspiration strikes on other days, so I keep a list of things I eventually want to blog about! If I have extra time (rare, but it happens!) I’ll even put together a draft of a recipe or something like that. Then on days when I’m crunched for time, I can use those!

  14. We have a hard time keeping up with our blogging post schedule. sometimes we are really good about it and do well with be consistent but then life gets in the way and our blog schedule is all over the place haha
    I think you will find a schedule that works for you, just remember no pressure of when to post just post when you can and we will be here to read it :)

  15. It’s so hard to have a blog and be a student. I totally understand. My reading fluctuates along with my schedule as well. I’m busy. I am a full time science major at my university, work two jobs, and have to fit in training for a marathon, somewhat of a social life, and blogging in-between. It’s difficult, especially to keep up with quality posts.
    I really enjoy reading your blog and it’s okay if you have to post infrequently!

  16. Great post hun! I love blogging and I destress when I blog, so I allow myself to have some “me time” and I use that for blogging :D

  17. I’m glad you’re getting A’s at least, I feel like everything I do is not good enough right now! I do need to get my priorities straight though and figure out what’s important and what can wait. I hope you can figure out a good balance and also for me too :)

  18. This is a wonderful post Savannah! It can be hard to balance everything with blogging, especially when you feel the “need” to. I have been there plenty of times. However it’s important to remember that this blog really is for you, and the fact that people read it is a bonus. Try not to care about the stats/numbers/commenters and all of that, and just enjoy writing about what you want to!

  1. Pingback: I’ve Been Converted « Sweet and Savvy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

