Healthy Snacky Snacks

Happy Saturday, pretties! Smile 

My day has been pretty fantastic and low key so far. I slept in till about 7:30, (I’m a bad teenager), and then got about an hour of strength/circuit training exercising in and was digging into this delicious smoothie by 9!

image

Since then, I’ve been busy getting a few things around the house done that I have been meaning to do, reading articles online, and working on my Honor’s College application for the University I have been accepted to and will most likely attend next year.

If you guys read my last post, I am going to continue that challenge today by recognizing something I am thankful for. Today, I am thankful for my love of reading, and the fact that reading has always come easily to me. I never realized how lucky and blessed I am to have had the opportunity at such a young age to even be taught how to read. There are roughly a billion people in the world that are illiterate. Two-thirds of these people are women, which accumulates to the sad and scary fact that over thirty percent of the word’s women cannot read.

My love of reading was fostered at a young age, and I attribute this to many amazing family role models. The fact that I am a voracious reader has opened my eyes to so many different perspectives of the world, and also has caused writing to be nearly automatic, easy, and enjoyable. I believe it is sad that so many young people like me do not experience the satiety brought about by finishing a good book, or expressing their feelings in writing. And it is sure making all these college essays a heck of a lot simpler.

Now, onto something else.

Do you remember Pam from the awesome guest post not too long ago? Yea, well she just became even more awesome in my book by nominating me for the “Liebster Blog Award.”

Here are the rules:

  1. Thank the giver and link back to the blogger who gave it to you. (Thanks PamSmile )
  2. Reveal your top 5 bloggers and let them know by leaving a comment on their blog.
  3. Copy and paste the award on your blog.

This is SO hard, because I love so many bloggers, but here are five that come to mind right now! Love these ladies!

Pam also recently shared some of her favorite snack combinations, and I thought this was an awesome idea! Here are some of my favorite snacks of late!

Greek yogurt with a tablespoon of sugar free chocolate (or cheesecake!) pudding mix! Amazing. Seriously, try it!

image

Air popped popcorn with stevia and cocoa powder. Also amazing.

Baby carrots dipped in salsa! Newman’s Own Pineapple and Mango varieties are the best!

Today’s Questions:

    1. Are you a reader? How did you get into reading?
    2. What are your favorite blogs of the moment?
    3. Best healthy snack combinations you’ve been loving? 

    image

About Sweet and Savvy

My name is Savannah and I am a teenage girl and a complete optimist with passions for learning, helping people, nutrition and enjoying every minute of life to its fullest!

Posted on November 5, 2011, in Books, healthy lifestyle, Random Tangents. Bookmark the permalink. 34 Comments.

  1. Congrats on the getting the award! :)
    Mhmm! Yummy snack combos! I have SO many blogs im loving right now! :) (including yours!)

  2. cool award!!!! YUM on the snack s.. the jello and yog one looks the best!

  3. Reading is such a good thing to be thankful for. I think it is something I too often take for granted. I was always a bookworm. I would take out 10 books (the maximum amount allowed) every time I would go to the library. I could easily plow through a book or two a day in the summer. My love of reading was so helpful in the SATs and in college.

  4. I love reading!! I just wish I had more time TO read! My favorite book of all time is The Help. Absolutely amazing!

    Have a great day!

  5. I definitely like to read but don’t have much time for it because I’m always swamped with school. That’s a great idea with the yogurt and pudding mix! Have you ever had carrots and PB? So good :)

  6. Oooo carrots and salsa sounds SO GOOD!
    and congrats on the award!

  7. Congratulations on the award and thank you so so much for tagging me! I seriously am psyched about this :)
    Greek yogurt and pudding is a winning combo… I just had some with butterscotch instant pudding last night!

  8. Thanks for the shout out! Great snack additions!! :)

  9. I love the greek yogurt with the pistachio pudding. or butterscotch. or cheesecake. or vanilla… oh really I just like all of ‘em :) jello mix is good too! One of my favorite healthy snacks is a rice cake with almond butter and cinnamon cottage cheese. Oh my yumness, it is fabulous!

  10. ohh some more snack ideas – thank you! I loove carrots and salsa too, I also love carrots and cottage cheese.. mmm :)

  11. this is a great award :) pumpkin and quinoa flakes are super yum!

  12. Aw, thank you so much for the shout out, Savannah! I love your blog too :)

    Oh, and salsa + hummus = GENIUS!

  13. That’s a frightening statistic… I can’t imagine not being able to read and I love it! I’ve learned so much from reading – and got so much enjoyment from it :-)
    My favourite snack is chocolate-covered raisins or dried banana chips; I’m addicted to both!

  14. I never thought to add pudding to Greek yogurt before…must try! I’m a reader too and love it! I get seriously addicted to books sometimes…and can’t stop reading to go to sleep. Oops!

  15. Oh my goodness. I had no idea that that many women in the world were illiterate. That makes me so sad because reading is something that we take for granted. My Mom made me a huge reader when I was a kid. We were always told to read a book rather than watch TV. I’m so thankful for that! It’s funny, my sister just told me to mix greek yogurt and chocolate pudding mix yesterday! It must be amazing!

  16. wonderful snack ideas! Thanks for sharing! xo

  17. Oooooh greek yogurt and pudding. That sounds amazing. I need to try that out. I really love sweet potatoes and peanut butter! Not like that’s really a “snack”… but I loves it :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

