Celiac Sprue and Going G-Free – Pamcakes Post

Hi my awesome readers that are still actually taking the time to read my blog even though I have neglected the blogosphere! J

School and life are running rampant… what can I say? Since I have been really busy, I have a really interesting guest post from Pamela. She has a lot of awesome and interesting information on a gluten free diet, so that is the topic of her guest post today! You should definitely head on over to her blog sometime because of all the great posts she pumps out! This woman knows her stuff and has an amazing personality! She also has some great recipes for everything from chocolate chip cookies to pineapple casserole!

Enjoy, and THANK YOU SO MUCH, Pam!!

Celiac Sprue and Going G-Free

Hey Sweet and Savvy readers! I’m Pamela, and I blog over at Pamcakes and Coffee. I am a physician assistant student with a huge interest in health, nutrition, and coffee!

clip_image002

I have enjoyed following Savannah’s blog and gluten-free recipes, and I am very excited to be writing a guest post for her. Over the past year, I have been researching Celiac Disease (Sprue) due to a personal interest in going “gluten-free”. My goal is to share some useful information concerning a g-free diet. You can view my graduate project on Celiac Disease as it pertains to pregnancy here.

I dealt with stomach pains on almost a daily basis for many years. For a while, I blamed stress and anxiety from school, but decided to finally see a doctor the beginning of the year. The first step in diagnosing Celiac, which is an autoimmune digestive disorder affecting women more than men, is blood work to test for specific autoantibodies. My blood work suggested Celiac, so I scheduled an endoscopy for an intestinal biopsy. An endoscopy is an outpatient, same day procedure, and I was out within a few hours. My biopsy came back negative, but I have remained interested in this topic, even though I still eat gluten-containing foods. To make a long story short, the culprit seems to be dairy!

The only treatment for Celiac Disease is a strict, lifelong gluten-free diet. The first step in making this transition is to recognize the products which contain gluten (wheat, rye, barley) and those which are gluten-free. Below are a few examples.

clip_image004clip_image006

Gluten-Containing Products: Breads, bagels, pasta, pizza, pretzels, crackers, cookies, cakes, wheat germ. It is important to note that some of these foods can be found gluten-free.

Gluten-Free Products: Fresh fruits, vegetables, 100% meat, eggs, legumes, peanut butter, butter, margarine, herbs, sweet potatoes, jelly, jam, honey, Amaranth, buckwheat, corn, cornstarch, guar gum, quinoa, rice, xanthan gum.

For baking and cooking, g-free flour includes: Almond meal flour, coconut flour, pea flour, potato flour, sorghum flour, soy flour, white rice flour.

There are many gluten-free products available in grocery stores now. You can view a complete list of g-free products that you can buy on the web here. One of the more popular brands is Bob’s Red Mill, which sells g-free oats, pancakes, chia seeds, baking flour, and cookies/cake mix. Betty Crocker also carries a line of g-free baking mixes. Many popular brands come in a gluten-free option!

clip_image007

Some restaurants also offer a gluten-free menu, including Carrabba’s Italian Grill, Cheeseburger in Paradise, Outback Steakhouse, Red Robin, Ruby Tuesday, and the Melting Pot. You can view the gluten-free menu for these restaurants on their website. I love my Melting Pot!

clip_image009

I hope that you found some of the information on Celiac Disease and going gluten-free helpful! You can read more about Celiac Disease on the NDDIC website, and in the book, The G-Free Diet: A Gluten-Free Survival Guide, by Elizabeth Hasselbeck. I would love to hear your feedback! You can find me at my site here.

What are some of your favorite gluten-free products?

About Sweet and Savvy

My name is Savannah and I am a teenage girl and a complete optimist with passions for learning, helping people, nutrition and enjoying every minute of life to its fullest!

Posted on October 29, 2011, in Dietary Needs, Gluten Free, guest posts, Random Tangents, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Although I’m not gluten free, I love experimenting with gluten free products and flours. I’m a big fan of coconut flour and I recently tried udi’s multigrain bread – it was so good! It toasts up all crunchy even better than regular bread! Great guest post :)

  2. Great guest post! I’m not gluten free but this was interesting to read! :)

  3. Great guest post! I love trying out gluten free recipes and such because my younger sis is gluten free! We both love are gluten free oats every morning :)

  4. What a great guest post! So many people are sensitive to Gluten but have no idea! This is great for helping them out. :)

  5. I hope everyone liked the guest post! Thank you for the kind feedback! :)

  6. great guest post Pam, it was great meeting you. and I have to be a little bias here with saying that best GF products our Twin Cakes Bakery :) haha
    love Bob red mills flours.

  7. Oh, YUM! Me like raw cookies — they are just so yummy! And nut butters. There is something about nuts that I am just so crazy about.

  1. Pingback: Sweet and Sour Chicken Birthday Dinner « Pamcakes & Coffee

  2. Pingback: Of Interest « Sweet and Savvy

  3. Pingback: Healthy Snacky Snacks « Sweet and Savvy

  4. Pingback: The G-Free Diet: A Gluten-Free Survival Guide | Gluten Free Central

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

