Making Changes and Getting Strong

Hey there!

I feel like I have not blogged in forever, even though I just shared these amazing, easy, ten minute, gluten free, and low calorie cookies with you on Sunday.

image

Over the weekend, I did a lot of thinking about how healthy of a lifestyle I actually have. I value eating healthy, nutritious foods. I feel good about myself that I eat well most of the time, but sometimes I am too strict with the amounts of food I let myself consume.

One of my biggest excuses I use for not always letting myself eat a lot is, “Well I don’t work out as much as other people.” This is a horrible though, and I am going to rid my mind of this thought.

Thank you

My relationship with exercise is a love-hate relationship, similar to most people. My exercising habits are also sporadic, inconsistent, and intermediate. This is what I want to change.

For a little background on me, I was actively involved on sporting teams from the time I was in kindergarten until tenth grade. From fourth grade on, I participated in multiple sports a year, and was always running from one activity to the next. Because of this, I was always involved in exercising, and relied on it to maintain my weight. Because I was active and a healthy weight, I never put any thought into the quantity or quality of food I ate. In the past year and a half or so, this has completely changed. I no longer participate in sports, and I am extremely interested in food and nutrition.

Since I always relied on practice and game schedules to define my workouts, I have struggled to get into a good exercise routine. I might work out six days a week for two weeks, then one day a week the next, and three days the following week without a real focus.

I am not an intense exercise lover. I admit it, and I don’t want to try and be one. At this point in my life, I do not see myself becoming a marathon runner or someone who spends two hours a day in a gym. I would like to find a better working routine to be more fit.

I have started this working out this week, with a specific focus on strength training and building muscle. I believe this is what is best for my body. I believe strength training will be the best for my body because it will a) increase my metabolism b) improve my moods c) allow me to put on a few pounds of muscle, and d) be a cathartic and relaxing routine.

Pinned Image

Though I want to be more consistent with my exercising habits, I do not want to keep a specific exercise log, specifically on my blog. The reason for this is, frankly, I want to do what is best for my body, not what I believe others will be impressed by, what others will think of my work outs, or stand as a comparison. I would be lying if I said I have never looked at a work out online or in a magazine and thought, “Wow, I could never do that. They are so much better than me.”

Pinned Image

I may post a little bit about my work outs, simply because getting into more consistent exercise habits will make me proud of myself, and I like to post the positive things in my life. I would also love to share any information that I would find potentially beneficial to my readers.

So this leads me to Today’s Questions:

1) What are your exercising habits? Do you have trouble getting into a routine?

2)  What are your tips for building muscle and strength training? I would love your advice!

3) Do you ever find yourself comparing workouts to someone else’s workouts?

About Sweet and Savvy

My name is Savannah and I am a teenage girl and a complete optimist with passions for learning, helping people, nutrition and enjoying every minute of life to its fullest!

Posted on October 25, 2011, in body image, Dietary Needs, healthy lifestyle, Random Tangents and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. This post is beautiful. I am so glad I found your blog! I love doing Tae Bo, and I have found an increase in stength and muscle. It’s cheap, easy, and (usually) fun! As love/hate as exercise is…

  2. I’d love to hear your workouts. I find reading about other blogger’s fitness levels and activities motivates me to try new things.
    Have you ever tried a BodyPump or Group Power class for strength training. What about a Jillian Michaels strength DVD?

  3. I definitely have trouble getting into a routine. I DREAD going to the gym, but I really enjoy my workout and how great I feel afterward. Getting there is all the struggle for me.

  4. I always compare my workouts to others! I am trying to be happy with what I can do everyday though! I would also love tips on getting stronger/lifting too :)

  5. Literally like 10 minutes before I read this I was thinking “I need to workout more, I’ve been eating a lot lately and lacking on exercise.” Like, the coincidence of this post is kinda weirding me out haha. I feel the exact same way though! I always say I’m going to workout everyday and I’ve only been doing what I feel is bare minimum. I absoluteeely hate working out, I’d much rather be in the kitchen but I know it’s what my body needs to maintain a healthy lifestyle. So definitely share about your strength training workouts because I would love to get some tips!

  6. When you start college next year, I highly recommend that you check out some group classes. This is something I regret not doing more of while in school. Looking back most of them are free or cost a buck or two. And college fitness facilities are normally gorgeous. I think the key to sticking with fitness is finding something you love. I don’t love running. I probably never will. But I do love biking, so I normally choose that as my cardio activity.

  7. I looovoe strength training! Though running is my favorite (I thrive on intensity!) I really enjoy more laidback strength workouts. I think one of the most important things is focusing on postworkout nutrition. It really has more of an impact than you would think! Quality protein and the right type of carbs is essential for building muscle! I think it’s really great that you’re not forcing yourself to do something you don’t want to do. It’s so important to do what works!

  8. Any exercise is better than no exercise! I LOVE that!

  9. I honestly hate traditional exercise, like going to the gym and running on the treadmill, but I definitely try to be active every day. A lot of times I get in an hour worth of walking around campus which is great! And I also do some yoga and cardio circuits every day, but I try not to stress about it. I think finding a balance with exercise is great, and more fun!

  10. I’m like you with my exercise habits. With driving school, my sceduele has become PACKED! Some weeks it’s most days, others is less days. But I’m working on that right now. The morning seems ot work best for me, since I can get ready for the day and be done with it. Strength Training is SO much fun! I love Jillian’s Circuit Training too — I love how she seriously gets my guns sculpted! :)

  11. Hey Doll!! Great post!! Ok, i’ve always worked out and lifted weights….never had the muscle tone I have now…..its all about my protein powder! Are you vegan??

    xxoo

  12. If you want to build muscle make sure to eat enough protein and to not work your muscles everyday because the need to repair themselves after a workout. :)

  13. we sometimes find ourselves comparing our workouts etc to others. it is the same sometimes about seeing what others eat, etc.
    we try not to compare because we realize everyone is different. and we all have different end goals with exercise and we think any type of movement is awesome!!! HUGS

  1. Pingback: You Get Out What You Put In « Sweet and Savvy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

