Peanut Butter Chocolate Marshmallow Pie

Happy Sunday! :)

Hope you all have enjoyed your weekend like I definitely have and aren’t feeling the Sunday evening blues too, too much!

My Friday evening was consumed by a much needed visit with my boyfriend, and then my momma and I completed some also, much needed marathon shopping yesterday!

We were at the mall by the time it opened, and did not get home until around 7 pm. It was a great and productive, yet exhausting day! My homecoming is this weekend, so I was down to the wire on finding outfits! Since I am on my school’s homecoming court, I had to find a dressy outfit for Friday night’s parade and football game in addition to a dress. I am soooo excited about the outfits I found, and we found some really amazing deals on everything I bought! I was considering blabbing and showing all the pictures I took yesterday so everyone could see my outfits, but I’ve decided to wait and let them be published online in a week as a little homecoming recap! I will give you a little sneak peek of my court outfit, though! :)

image

Yea, I know, not too much, but stick around as a Sweet and Savvy reader, and you’ll see the whole thing eventually! :)

I realize as you’re reading this, you’re probably thinking, okay, okay. When is this girl going to talk about the reason I clicked on this post? Peanut Butter Chocolate Marshmallow Pie Recipe.

I’m getting there, promise. In the meantime, feel free to look at some gross pictures of my breakfast!

image2 Egg Whites + Laughing Cow Wedge
imageTVP + Cocoa Powder + Peanut Flour

Last night, I knew I wanted to try baking something this weekend. I have been wanting to experiment with pumpkin and other fall flavors, but something just keeps drawing me back to the Chocolate and Peanut Butter combination. And throwing marshmallows into the mix makes it that much better. :) So here yaa go!

image

 Gluten Free Peanut Butter Chocolate Marshmallow Pie

Inspired by : All Recipes

Total Time : about 1/2 hour

Servings : 12 – 16

Ingredients :

  • 4 Cups Corn Chex Cereal [any Chex would probably work]
  • 1/3 cup Sugar or Sugar Substitute
  • 2 Egg Whites
  • 1/4 tsp Cream of Tartar
  • 1/2 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1/3 Brown Sugar
  • 1/4 cup + 2 TBSP Peanut Butter
  • 1/4 Cup Butter or Margarine [softened]
  • 1 1/2 cup mini marshmallows
  • 1/8 cup chocolate chips
  • 1/8 cup peanut butter chips

Directions:

  1. reheat Oven to 350f.
  2. Place the Chex Cereal in plastic bag, then crush them with a rolling-pin (or whatever you have) until they are a crumb like consistency. Be careful not to rip the bag!
  3. Beat the two egg whites, cream of tartar, and sugar until a smooth consistency.
  4. Add peanut butter, butter, vanilla, and brown sugar until smooth.
  5. Stir in your Chex crumbs.
  6. Spread onto a baking or pie dish evenly.
  7. Bake for 9-12 minutes.
  8. Remove dish, and spread marshmallows and chocolate and peanut butter chips on the “crust”, but not too close to the edge.
  9. Bake for another 5-6 minutes, enough for the marshmallows to be gooey, but not toasted!
  10. Let cool, and enjoy!

image
image
image
image

These are heavenly! They are pretty crumbly and messy, but it’s the taste that matters, right? :)

Warning : Family members will be tempted to pick off marshmallows and chocolate chips every time they walk through the kitchen. Keep in a safe place. ;)

Today’s Questions:

1) Are you a bargain shopper, or do you just buy what you need?

2) What did you do this weekend?

3) Did you make or enjoy any great desserts over the weekend?

 

About Sweet and Savvy

My name is Savannah and I am a teenage girl and a complete optimist with passions for learning, helping people, nutrition and enjoying every minute of life to its fullest!

Posted on September 25, 2011, in Dietary Needs, Gluten Free, Meals, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 27 Comments.

  1. That pie looks heavenly. And I would definitely be the one picking at the top. I am such a bargain shopper. It gets me in trouble because I always end up with things I don’t need just because they were “onsale” I am about to go back a birthday dessert for my boyfriend right now!

  2. holy deliciousness!!! That would be a great dish to make for holidays coming up,mmmm!

    I try to be as much of a bargain shopper as I can, but some things I feel are worth the splurge for good quality. So it balances out, or at least thats what i tell myself, hehe. ;)

  3. Marshallows make that pie 10000000x better and it looks good enough without. aww you are so cute, I always do the excited blabbing about clothes too! Sounds like you had a great time, I usually try to just stick with what I need but always fail miserably and end up picking up random bargains!!

  4. Holy moly woman that looks AMAZING!

    I am a huge fan of marshmallows, chocolate, and any kind of bars like that. NICE work, I’ll take your leftovers :)

  5. hey! love your blog :) so glad I visited!! this sounds good!

  6. Oh my gosh I think if I made this recipe it would be gone in 3 days, max.

  7. Oh my goodness that looks delicious. My sister’s birthday is coming up at the end of October and I have a good idea of what I’ll be making;).
    That’s so exciting about homecoming, I wish I would have been more involved in that sort of thing in high school. I’m totally a bargain shopper as well, especially for shoes. Have you ever heard of the store DSW? They have tons of cute designer clearance shoes. Yes please! :)

  8. I bet that pie taste amazing!! Thanks for the recipe :)

  9. Oooh i’m so excited to see your outfit. You guys sure did work, I think a piece of peanut butter chocolate marshmallow pie after that crazy shopping day would taste so good.

  10. good stuff here! reminds me of a good halloween dish. or maybe a campfire dish? Or maybe I just like anything with marshmallow and chocolate! haha.

  11. This looks amazing!!! I had an amazing apple cake this weekend! So goodd :)

  12. This looks flippen fantastic! I would definitely be that person that picks off marshmallows every time I walk by!

  13. Wow that looks unbelievable!! And yes, I am THE bargain hunter. I’m one of those people who can’t shut up about a great deal either hahah. i know, shameful.

    this weekend i made calzones from scratch for my boyfriend & i. they were so good – and affordable to make! haha

  14. You had me at gluten free dessert! OMG chocolate and marshmallows I need this now. This is def going on my to-bake list. I am going to have to tell my mom about this because she is already trying to think of gluten free recipes to make for our thanksgiving.

  15. Great idea for a dessert!! I enjoyed the most amazing peach cobbler this weekend :-)

  16. Your Peanut Butter Chocoalte Pie is making me drool right now — and it’s after 11 o’clock right now. :)

  17. Oh my gosh… no you did not. No you did not post this recipe and talk me into making it and eating nothing but it for the rest of my life O_O I am so excited.

  1. Pingback: Pumpkin Pie for Breakfast « Sweet and Savvy

  2. Pingback: Guest post by Savannah Tips Going Gluten Free « kaliesthoughts

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

