Stove Top Oats

I have a confession.

I am lazy. I cook everything in the microwave, whether it should be cooked in the microwave or not. I always make my mornings oats the night before and then sit them in the refrigerator, and if needed, nuke them. Before this morning, I had never for real cooked oats on the stove.

I know, I know. I cannot believe it either, but honestly, this time last year, I only thought oatmeal came in little brown packets. So this morning, I tackled a new adventure and tried cooking my oatmeal on the stove.

image

Aaaaand it was great! :) They tasted so good cooked on the stove! I made my usual Super Chocolatey Protein Oats. They’re super thick on the stove, and I prefer mine a little thinner, so after I was done, I added a bit more water to thin them out, cool them down, and help the protein powder dissolve. I also added a little extra cocoa powder, because, well, why not? :)

My morning has been spent at my brother’s cross country meet, and I definitely realized the weather change! It was so much cooler this morning than it has been at his past meets.

It is a super busy day for me, so I am currently enjoying Chick Fil A’s Chargrilled Chicken and Fruit Salad while downing a copious amount of lemonade. I refuse to believe it is getting colder. I like my summer foods. ;)

image

image

I have a wedding to go to this afternoon, so I need to start getting ready for that!

Have a great Saturday! :) Today’s Questions -

1) What summer foods and drinks are you unwilling to give up, no matter what the temperature is?

2) What are you doing this Saturday?

About Sweet and Savvy

My name is Savannah and I am a teenage girl and a complete optimist with passions for learning, helping people, nutrition and enjoying every minute of life to its fullest!

Posted on September 17, 2011, in Gluten Free, Meals, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. I’ve actually never cooked oats on the stove either haha…I’m too impatient! I’m unfortunately spending a lot of my day doing homework..boo

  2. Blonde on a Mission

    I have never cooked oatmeal on the stove. Brown packets all the way :D
    And I will never give up ice cream, no matter how cold it is!

    And I’m spending my Saturday working :(
    Hope you have fun at the wedding!

  3. Hahaha I always use the microwave too! Veggies, sweet potatoes, oatmeal… always!

  4. Another microwave only oater eater here…yours look so yummy on the stove though! Not giving up my berries, the thought of it makes me want to cry :( Buying frozen berries works just as well thankfully. Have fun at the wedding!!!

  5. Get ready Savannah, you have just opened up an entire WORLD of new horizons! Now you’re going to be able to add toppings as you go :D

  6. i always cook my oatmeal in the microwave too…im super lazy!
    but for a bit now ive been cooking it on the stove top and it’s sooo much tastier!

  7. I am definitely not going to give up ice cream :)
    I use the microwave too… but they do taste good on the stove top when I have time

  8. i will never give up fro yo! it can be snowing outside and i will still want to eat it :)

  9. Stovetop oats are soooo good. I prefer mine with pumpkin and egg whites. It gets so thick and creamy. As far as summer foods I’m not willing to give up… definitely eggplant and zucchini!

  10. I don’t wana give up peaches, plums, and berries! my favorites :) Thank God for frozen berries :)

  11. I refuse to give up blueberries or ice cream….yet! Bahah have fun at the wedding :)

  12. Probably one thing I could never give up is my bowl of warm oats — I love it so much! :) I hope the wedding was fun. :)

  13. Oats prepared well are simply the best. I love overnight oats when I know I won’t have time to cook in the morning, and I love warm oats when I can actually swing making breakfast. There are so many different, delicious ways to make oats…I’m so glad you’ve finally discovered the joy of them.

    My summertime love isn’t a food, but a method of preparation. I LOVE my grill. Cooking without it may kill me, which probably means I’ll be grilling in layers this winter :)

  14. I use the microwave to make my oatmeal, too :P
    I could never give up fruit like berries in the Winter! I still top my oats with them during the winter to have them with a snack :)
    I also refuse to give up my oatmeal during the Summer :)

  15. I don’t know about summer, but a fall food I eat throughout the year is apples!

  16. I always cook in the microwave, mainly because I have to do my dishes by hand and I really resent having extra pots to wash. Ha! But stovetop oatmeal really IS better than microwaved, extra pots and all.

  17. I love cooking oats on the stove..but I have to admit, I’m all about the little brown packets too ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

