Rain, rain, go away

“There could never be a more beautiful you.
Don’t buy the lies, disguises and
hoops, they make you jump through.
You were made to fill a purpose that only
you could do,
so there could never be a more beautiful you.”

I heard this song by Jonny Diaz twice on the radio today and fell in love with it. I am the type of person who lives by many quotes and song lyrics, so especially after Sunday’s Post, I wanted to share these great words of truth with everyone. I hope all my beautiful readers can be impacted by this little phrase, and that it shines a little light on their day like it did mine!

I don’t know where everyone else is, but my day could use a little light. It has been an awfully rainy, dreary, dark day!

imageBy the looks of weather.com ‘s predictions, it does not look like I’m going to be seeing much sun for a while. :(

Despite the depressing weather, I tried out a new breakfast today, and it was a success!

I’ve seen Chia puddings floating around the blog world for a while, but haven’t tried it out. I bring you,

Chocolate Protein Chia Pudding!

I mixed:

1/2 scoop chocolate protein powder

1 Tbsp Cocoa

1 teaspoon sweetener

2 1/2 Tbsp Chia seeds

3/4 cup of water
image

I combined these ingredients, let sit in the fridge overnight, and stirred together. I was pretty impressed!The chocolate flavor was really good, and the texture was pretty interesting. I’ll definitely be eating it as part of breakfast or a snack again!

image

Since it is raining like crazy and my school now has a river running through it, I decided spending my time between classes sitting at Starbucks drinking a warm drink was in order!

image
imageI completed some homework in the library while drinking a Tazo Organic Chai tea and eating a sliced strawberries. This for sure brightened up my day!

If anyone remembers my Scone recipe from Sunday, my brother and I made another batch last night, and cooked them on a baking sheet instead of a cupcake pan. Here is what they look like in Scone form!
image
image

Tuesday questions:

1. If it is rainy and dreary where you are, has it affected your mood? Do you like rain?

2. Have you tried Chia seeds? What do you use them for?

3. What song lyrics or quotes have made an impact on you recently?

About Sweet and Savvy

My name is Savannah and I am a teenage girl and a complete optimist with passions for learning, helping people, nutrition and enjoying every minute of life to its fullest!

Posted on September 6, 2011, in Gluten Free, Meals, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. If it is rainy and dreary where you are, has it affected your mood? – YES! Feeling a bit cranky today. I’m a much bigger fan of sunny, bright, happy weather.

    Do you like rain? – Only if I don’t have anywhere to go.

  2. Not unless it’s light Summer rain…ours is torrential right now…lovely lyrics. And how apt.

  3. It is really cloudy where I live and looks like it could start storming any minute! Luckily, I love it! I’m actually really sick of the sun and 95+ degrees everyday and ready for cooler weather!

    I usually eay chia seeds about 5 days out of the week. I like adding them to my oatmeal and drinking them mixed with a little water (weird I know) but it is a great and quick snack!

  4. I am a recent chia seed convert! Your pudding looks so yummy. I have only tried them in oatmeal and granola so far. Send me some rain. My poor flowers are thirsty:)

  5. I love chia seeds! Send some rain my way. My flowers r thirsty:)

  6. yum chocolate chia pudding sounds awesome!!

  7. Oh it so quite rainy and poopy (maturity at its best) here too! Blehh
    I love chia seeds, but have never tried making this pudding! Ought to change this soon

  8. I LOVE the rain that’s been happening here! The only downside is I can’t ride my bike like usual..but it’ll pass soon.

  9. It’s really dreary here too and rain is in the forecast all weekend. I’m not liking it too much since school just started and we really want to get the kids outside for recess!

  10. I’ve never been a huge fan of the chia pudding. I’ve never tried mixing in protein powder though so I’ll have to give that a shot! The rain was definitely a damper on my day today. We had our senior picnic – which was cold and rainy – then cross country practice – cold and rainy – and then we lost power for a few hours! Usually I don’t mind the rain but today it was just annoying!

  11. It was rainy for 4 days straight and the entire holiday weekend, so I know how you feel! It definitely affects my mood..negatively. And I feel tired the entire day. :/

  12. i stir chia seeds into my oats to make them super thick! i don’t like chia pudding too much though.

    it’s not rainy here in ca! it’s smokin hot and i just had my 1st xc race of the season today when it was like 90 degrees.. sweat much? hahhah

  13. It’s been raining here for the past two days. I don’t mind the rain now and then…a cool, rainy day is perfect for curling up with a book and a cup of tea. But I’m not very motivated or productive on rainy days, so I don’t get much done. I like chia pudding, but I can take it or leave it. I eat chia seeds every day in my oatmeal.

  14. I mainly put chia seeds in my oatmeal or smoothies! Yum those scones look really good :)

  15. I love the rainy, misty days! They remind me of the coast :) Snowy days on the other hand, just make me want to curl up with hot chocolate and a movie – and just to think those days are just around the corner!

    I really want to try chia pudding sometime!!
    <3 <3

  16. Hey! Holy rain batman…wow! I have a quick question for you..how to you get the weather forecast in a photo like that? I’ve tried and it never does work like I think it should!

  17. Luckily the rain has been slowed down here :)

    I love chia seeds! I have them just about every single day!!! YUM

  18. Mm, I love chia seeds, I add them to smoothies/oatmeal cookies/muffins/crumble toppings/etc…and I gotta say I’m a rainy day kinda gal. Heat makes me grumpy and afraid of being touched :)

  19. The sconey pizza thing looks like the solution to a rainy day! I always find wearing bright clothes and trying to eat summery things cheers me up a bit, if I’m wearing black and eating soup and bread on a dreary day I just feel like blahhh ;p

  1. Pingback: Wiaw « Sweet and Savvy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

