What’s Labor Day without a burger?

Well guys, I have one thing to say.

Wow.

Wow, on the amazing response to yesterday’s post. I cannot believe everyone was so supportive and understanding, making it my most successful post yet. I am particularly touched by this, having that it was probably my most honest thing I have written, and definitely the most honest thing I have shared publicly. I had a lot of trouble hitting the “publish” button. After publishing, I had to get up from my computer, do a few things, then I though, did I REALLY just post that? Should I go delete it? Boy, I’m glad I didn’t delete it. THANK YOU to all my supportive readers. It helped me get some things off of my chest. :)

My Labor Day has been pretty low key. I started off with a yummy breakfast.

image

1/3 cup peanut flour + 1 Tbsp Cocoa + 1 tsp sweetener + 1 egg white + 1/2 almond milk microwaved for about two minutes.

 I spent the majority of the day helping my brother and two of his friends do a health project. They were assigned to make a fake tobacco commercial, and the boys broke their ad into two parts. The first part were the tobacco lies, and the second was tobacco truth.

As expected with working with middle school boys, it got pretty interesting. My brother spent the majority of the video in a trench coat and sunglasses, and the cigar being advertised was named, “The Big One.” Very appropriate. I know. Being a supporter of this project, I am quite the advocate of great morals for the boys. ;)

I did break for lunch to make a Mexican Salad Monster that I created the other day. It was so good, I couldn’t get enough! I doubled the recipe this time, and split it with my mom. She loved it!

image

This excites me because as much as I love some of my food concoctions, I usually think that 90% of the population would give me a weird look and call me crazy for eating such a thing.

image

image

Since it is Labor Day and all, my family decided that grilling out would be a good idea. It has been an awfully rainy, dreary day here, so we opted out of the grill idea, and took our cook out foods indoors. We made burgers out of lean ground beef, and roasted potatoes, bell peppers, and an onion in a case of aluminum foil.

image

Super simple, but super good!

image
image

I enjoyed my burger topped with a light Laughing Cow original swiss wedge, lots of pepper, and a bread and butter pickle and a plain old salad with some Italian dressing on the side! I have not been eating much meat lately, but this burger hit the spot!

What have you eaten on this Labor Day? Share some great recipes or ideas for me!

Have a great, short week everyone! :)

About Sweet and Savvy

My name is Savannah and I am a teenage girl and a complete optimist with passions for learning, helping people, nutrition and enjoying every minute of life to its fullest!

Posted on September 5, 2011, in Meals. Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. I saw the link to that blog post pop up ALL over the place! That would definitely count as a successful blog post!! I thought it was awesome, by the way. I’m so jealous I never got to make commercials in middle school or high school. I feel like every other school did things like that except for mine! Sounds like lots of fun.

  2. Hello delicious Mexican salad! I wish to make you for dinner tomorrow!

  3. Mexican salads <3
    love the breakfast–looks delish!

  4. Looks like you had some good Labor Day eats Savannah :)

    And I would not call you crazy for enjoying that Mexican lunch for one second! It actually looks drool-worthy :D

  5. You know, I actually didn’t eat much grilled out food – only sweet corn! My husband, however, had two steaks bigger than his head lol

  6. That breakie sounds great! I really need to try peanut flour….glad you had a great weekend :)

  7. I’m so glad your post got a good response because it was so well written! Congrats amiga :)

    I baked a cherry cobbler for labor day. I didn’t get a burger unfortunately… but my family made them! Classic labor day meal. I’ll have to make a veggie burger today and celebrate a little late.

  8. I’m glad you didn’t delete your post! Your Labor Day sounds yummy! Sometimes you just need a burger to satisfy you! I had some veggie kabobs, a chicken sausage, corn on the cob, and a ton of fruit salad for labor day!

  9. That mexican salad looks really good! I ate corn yesterday. Lots and lots of corn. I don’t think I really touched any of the other side dishes…I have a serious love affair with corn on the cob.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

