WIAW + Spiced Vanilla Chai Oat Recipe

I cannot believe it is already Wednesday again! Time for round 2 of my What I Ate Wednesday post with a truly amazing oatmeal recipe!

For the past three nights, I have been a total dinner hater! I have not sat down and had a real meal for dinner. Instead, I’ve been snacking on a lot of random things. Last night was no different.

This has included throwing this amazing salsa on whatever I can find…

image

Chocolate Strawberry Smoothies…

image

Lots of Baby Carrots, apples, and various other veggies and fruit.

These great Lentil Crackers…

image

Topped with some of this…

image

And Peanut Flour Sauce. [peanut flour + stevia + water]

I had to go into school early today to finish a test, so luckily I had some awesome Overnight Oats waiting to be devoured by me! J This may be my new favorite oat recipe! If you keep reading this post you will find the recipe! This morning, I literally ate this HUGE bowl of oats in under 10 minutes because I was time crunched. It was a little disgusting.

image

I am really starting to hate school for not allowing me to sit down and eat a real lunch.

image

 Lunch today consisted of a salad, a nectarine, a string cheese, and Luna Protein Bar. Oh, and the best part – a little treat of an Iced Coffee from McDonalds with Sugar Free Vanilla syrup! J

image

Maybe I will get in the mood for a real dinner tonight, but for right now, I’m eating another smoothie! What can I say? No air conditioning at my school leaves me craving these things!

Here is the recipe for my oats I’ve been bragging about. This is seriously sooo yummy!

Spiced Vanilla Chai Oats

Ingredients:

  • ½ – ¾ cup of original oats
  • 1 tsp of Chia Seeds
  • 1 ½ cup of hot water
  • 1 vanilla chia tea bag [I use Bigelow]
  • ½ tsp vanilla extract [can be reduced to ¼ tsp]
  • 1-2 tsp stevia or sugar
  • 1 TBSP cinnamon

image
image
image

Directions:

  1. Steep your bag of tea in the hot water for 5-10 minutes. You want a strong Chai flavor.
  2. Pour tea over oats in a bowl with vanilla extract and cook either on the stove or microwave. I microwaved mine for a total of 2 minutes or so. You have to really watch your oats to be sure they do not spill over in the microwave.
  3. Stir in cinnamon and stevia.
  4. Let oats sit in the refrigerator for a few hours or overnight.
  5. Sprinkle extra cinnamon and/or stevia if desired.
  6. Eat hot or cold! I have eaten these both ways. If hot, add a little more water, stir, and microwave for 45 seconds to a minute.

I have a feeling this oatmeal will be making many reappearances! You can also play around with the oat to chia seed ratio. I just kind of threw in whatever I was feeling. Less oats + More chia seeds might be good. More of both may be better. All I know is I love this combination of ingredeints, especially for fall!

Also.. I really enjoyed this article! You should check it out!

Longer Life: How to keep your organs happy.

About Sweet and Savvy

My name is Savannah and I am a teenage girl and a complete optimist with passions for learning, helping people, nutrition and enjoying every minute of life to its fullest!

Posted on August 31, 2011, in Gluten Free, Meals, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. 34 Comments.

  1. No air conditioning?! OMG I would DIE!

    p.s. you are GORGEOUS!!

  2. Wow I am loving this recipe, what a great idea with the tea! I have never thought of something like this… but I do enjoy chai so I am going to give it a try sometime :)

  3. AWESOME idea! I’ll need to try this when I go to college and actually don’t have time to eat :P LOVE the blog girlie!!

  4. I’m a huge chai tea fan and love me some morning oats. Basically, this recipe & I are a match made in heaven.

  5. OHHH yeeeeah yummeh eats! love laughing cow cheese, so good as a snack or amelted in mealsss. I definitely want to give those chia oats a go! simple perfection.

  6. OMG such a good idea–oats cooked in tea! I will have to try this soon!

  7. Why have I never thought of flavoring oats with tea?! I drink like 8 cups of tea a day! Great idea :D

  8. Chai flavored oats – yum. I love chai tea, probably is the only tea that I really like :) I am more of a coffee person haha

  9. I miss being able to make overnight oats with chia seeds!! I need to go buy a bag for my dorm room. Thanks for the oat recipe, that sounds deeeelish. :)

  10. I remember my high school either being so hot or totally freezing. Sometimes I’d be so cold going from outside where it was like 100 degrees to inside at 60. It was just sort of a drastic change.

  11. Sometimes all I crave are smoothies too and just end up snacking, its totally fine :D

  12. chai oats would be SO SCRUMPTIOUS!!! mmm so many recipes come to my mind. the best chai version i had was a chai tea cookie, it was yum yum yummy!

    xoxo <3

  13. i hate not being able to eat a “real” lunch either! no microwave + no fridge = boring lunches. :( and my eating has been the same as your dinners lately- lotsa snacking! it’s just easier for me right now since i don’t have a lot of time to eat.

  14. Aw no air-con?! That sucks!! But those oats will be a lifesaver in the winter I bet! Yum! Happy WIAW…or now thursday ;p

  15. NO air conditioning in school is brutal!! Hang in there for sure. Yum those oats sound great, I have yet to see a vanilla chai version! :)

  16. no a/c? this sounds like a time for tea popsicles. try it, they’re sooo refreshing.

    I love love love laughing cow too!

  17. oooh what a good idea for the oats! I’ll be trying that soon :)

  18. Oh.em.gee. We are tea twins. I love bigelow vanilla chai. It’s good enough when you steep it in water, but I love using it to flavor oats. I’m a lunch hater. I’m snackity snacker at lunch, but I usually come around to sitting down to a decent dinner. This will change when school starts though!

  19. Pamela @ Pamcakes and Coffee

    This is a great idea! I love chai tea (especially the Bigelow), and I never thought to incorporate it into my oats. I will definitely have to try these oats this week! Thanks for the idea :)

  1. Pingback: Twitted by Sweet_and_Savvy

  2. Pingback: Remembering Sunday « Sweet and Savvy

  3. Pingback: I Love Blogging « Sweet and Savvy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

