Sweet Potato Fry Casserole

Hope my wonderful readers are having a great and not so grueling Monday so far!

If you remember my post yesterday, I mentioned that I was attempting to make a recipe inspired by the wonderful Mama Pea, despite the fact that I had about a quarter of the ingredients on hand. I am happy to report back that my concoction was a total success! By following Mama Pea’s guidelines for her Wannabe recipe for Tater Tot Casserole, I managed to create one awesome dish! I’d like to tweak a few things in the recipe the next time I make it, but this was what I did.

Sweet Potato Fry Casserole

This serves 6-8, depending on if you are eating this as a meal or side dish.

Inspired by Mama Pea’s recipe at Peas and Thank you.

Prep Time – Approximately 15/20 minutes

Cook Time – 45/50 minutes

Ingredients –

  • 2.5 cups frozen mixed veggies [I used green beans, corn, peas, and carrots]
  • 1.5 cups chopped celery
  • 1 can of chicken or vegetable broth [preferably, low sodium]
  • 1 can chickpeas [rinsed and drained]
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 2 tsp stevia
  • Dash of salt to taste
  • 1 Tbsp flour [I used Bob's GF]
  • 2 Tbsp Nutritional Yeast
  • ¾ bag of frozen sweet potato fries

Directions –

  1. Preheat Oven to 375 degrees.
  2. Thaw your frozen veggies in microwave for about 30 – 45 seconds.
  3. Wash and chop celery.
  4. Spray a skillet with cooking spray and sauté all of your veggies.
  5. After sautéing for about 4 minutes on high, add in your chickpeas.
  6. Add your pepper, cumin, and optional stevia and salt.
  7. Add the flour and nutritional yeast. Stir and make sure everything is coated.
  8. Pour in broth. Cook for another five minutes, on medium high heat.
  9. Place mixture into a coated baking dish.
  10. Top with Frozen Sweet Potato Fries.
  11. Bake for 45 – 50 minutes.
  12. Let cool, serve, and enjoy!image

cutting..

image

sauteing..

image

done!

I had prepared myself for a total disaster since I totally changed up the recipe, but this turned out so, so good! My veggie hating father even ate a bit of it and did not seem too appalled. ;) I ate a large portion of this for lunch, alongside a simple salad. I was full for hours!

Because I did so much experimenting in the kitchen for my noontime meal, I was not ready to try anything too exciting for dinner. I was not really in the mood for anything, and I had some leftover spaghetti squash that needed to be eaten, so dinner turned out pretty random. I decided to cook some fresh green beans and a bell pepper in garlic salt and onion flakes. Surprisingly, this is really good. I threw all of my veggies in a bowl and dumped tons of salsa from a local, family run Mexican restaurant on top, and mixed all together. This was really good! I also ate a couple egg whites and cheese for protein, with celery and peanut butter for dessert!

image

image

image

I spent some time hanging out with my cousin Doug after dinner, and since he is such a medical genius, he thought that our bodies were devoid of calcium. The only cure for this, may you ask? Go out for ice cream!

I had an M&M McFlurry. I have not had one of these in years, and it tasted pretty darn good! J

After the cold dessert last night paired with the chill in the air this morning, I decided to break out of my Breakfast Rut, and warmed up some Super Chocolately Protein Overnight Oats. They definitely hit the spot!

On my way to college class, I snacked on apples with cinnamon and baby carrot sticks, then when returning to school, I had leftover Sweet Potato Fry Casserole from yesterday! I got some weird looks, but it tasted awesome.

image

If you follow me on Twitter, you may have noticed that I discovered Bigelow Green Tea with Peach yesterday. Since my discovery, I have been craving it like crazy! I steeped a bag of my new find as soon as I got home from school this afternoon, then poured over ice, and added a pack of Stevia! You guys should check this stuff out! Not only does it taste great, but it IS great for you!


About Sweet and Savvy

My name is Savannah and I am a teenage girl and a complete optimist with passions for learning, helping people, nutrition and enjoying every minute of life to its fullest!

Posted on August 29, 2011, in Gluten Free, Meals, Recipes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 31 Comments.

  1. Those are the best kinds of recipes– when you have no hope but they turn out great. Awesome looking dish, Savannah!

  2. I just found your blog from spoonful of peanut butter :) love it! I saw that recipe and I knew it would be fabulous. I’m so happy you liked it, because that means I probably will too! I have to admit, mcdonalds ice cream really isn’t too bad! I enjoy a bite.. or two or three… of my sister’s whenever she gets them.

  3. Sounds like a good recipe! My friend and I used to always walk to the Mcdonalds for ice cream… brings back great memories! Mcdonalds soft serve is out of this world :P :P

  4. Wow that looks so good! I’m growing sweet potatoes in my garden so I’ve been looking for new sweet potato recipes!

  5. OOOoo wow this looks so good! I love anything with sweet potatoes so this is a must make for me :)

  6. I haven’t had a McFlurry in years! They are so yummy I’ll definitely have to get one soon. The Oreo ones were always my favorites! :-D

  7. Haha, low on calcium is definitely a good excuse for a McFlurry :) Love it.

  8. Oh yum, that recipe sounds amazing!!! I mean, anything involving sweet potatoes has to be at least pretty good ;)

    I don’t think I’ve ever had a McFlurry!! But I have had a DQs blizzard, and I can attest that those are pretty tasty :P
    <3 <3

  9. Yum! I definetly need to try this! Who doesnt love sweet taters haha! :)

  10. Love that you used the fries as a topper- what a great idea :)
    & I haven’t had a McFlurry in FOREVER either- I used to love the Oreo ones- YUM!!

  11. That McFlurry is calling my name right now..

  12. I love peach tea! My grandma used to get a kind that came in it’s own little crate, I can’t remember for the life of me what the brand was – but you could slide the lid off and pull out a bag. Then, after the box was empty it would still keep that yummy peach scent. This reminds me to pick up a box to try!

    And, I love McFlurries/Blizzards…probably my fave ice cream treat!

  13. Casseroles are awesome. I am a big fan of cook once, eat twice,i.e. leftovers!

  14. that casserole looks great! i’m a little tight on cash until pay day so this is the perfect recipe to use what I already have in this kitchen! thanks for the tip!!

  15. Casserole’s scream autumn! I’m so happy to have found this. I’ve been seeing so many delicious casserole recipes lately. Can’t wait to give this a go!

  16. Awesome recipe, girl!
    And, I gotta tell you – I couldn’t be happier to see that McFlurry!
    I think we bloggers keep talking about how important it is to mantain balance…
    But only a feeeeeeeeeew of us actually eats junk food (or, as I’d say, “healthy-for-the-soul food) once in a while.
    YAY FOR FOODIE-FREEDOM!
    Hope you’re having a lovely day :)
    xoxoxo

  17. Oooh I love mcflurrys! haha got to get those bones nice and strong of course! Om..goodness your recipe there looks like such a good idea, I really need to check out more about mamapea, I’ve heard so much raving about her ;p

  18. Mmm, this look too good!

    The M&M mcflurries are my favorite kind right behind Reese’s pieces :)

  19. the casserole sounds absolutely delicious! i can’t wait to try it!

    i haven’t had a mcflurry in years either and now i wanna go get one haha. i think my fav is definitely reese’s though.

  1. Pingback: Guest post by Savannah Tips Going Gluten Free « kaliesthoughts

  2. Pingback: Vegan Recipe Round Up « Sweet and Savvy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

