Breakfast Rut

Hi, guys! :) Hope everyone is staying safe and dry despite Irene this morning. I am not in an effected area of the hurricane / tropical storm, thankfully. The most damage I may see from Irene is a few showers, if that.

You’ve probably noticed that Sweet and Savvy has been playing musical backgrounds in the last 24 hours. I feel like I need to update my blog’s look a bit, but I have not had the patience. I’ve made a few different backgrounds in Photoshop using the colors of my current banner, but I feel like that may need an update too.

I wanted to go for a little classier look, so for a while, Sweet and Savvy had an argyle background. I like this pattern, but I felt like it was too bright, so I switched it up to a lighter background with darker polka dots. [Current background]

Any blogging design tips and tricks would be appreciated! :) But anyway, back to my weekend.

I have had a pretty low-key weekend, which is just how I wanted it! Friday night, I got to have a little date night with my boyfriend, Christopher. We went out for dinner and ice cream. We got ice cream at the best little ice cream shop in the ENTIRE world. Seriously. They are only open between Memorial Day and Labor Day, and they have the best desserts ever, not to mention the biggest. Their large cones are legitimately over a foot in height!

I got a chocolate and vanilla twist ice cream covered in rainbow sprinkles. Christopher got a cookie dough and chocolate ice cream Avalanche. An avalanche is the equivalent to Dairy Queen’s blizzard. Both of these desserts were completely and totally delicious.

Yesterday was kind of a bum day. I did not even put my contacts in all day, not even for some grocery shopping at Walmart. My Walmart completely fails keeping things in stock. Every time I go there, I feel like I get half of what I need, and to make up for the half they are out of, I end up buying random, on the fly purchases. Yesterday, there was not a spaghetti squash in sight of the entire produce section! :(

image

 I was very disappointed. Luckily, Walmart was not out of my favorite yogurt or frozen strawberries.

Because they were stocked with these goodies… this means my current favorite breakfast obsession may continue! Yay! So shockingly, guess what my breakfast consisted of!

image

A creamy chocolate strawberry protein smoothie and yogurt! I have a feeling with cooler fall mornings beginning to roll in, I will not be craving a creamy and cold breakfast much longer, so I may as well wear out this trend while it lasts! :)

So far this morning has consisted of some weak attempts at ACT preparation and reading and taking notes on the first chapter of my AP Government and Politics book. I have a big Lit test tomorrow on all of my summer readings, so I will be spending a pretty substantial time studying for this. Over the summer, I had the assignment of reading Sophocles’ Oedipus plays, The Awakening by Kate Chopin, Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison, and The Road by Cormac McCarthy.

None of these were terrible books. I mostly enjoyed them, even if they were not up my alley for book choices. I like happy books with great endings, and none of these quite fit into that category. I did though really love The Road. Book review sometime soon? Just may happen! :)

While writing this post, I have a variation of one of Mama Pea’s recipes in my oven. All of her “recipeas” are amazing, so I am hoping my version is half way decent. I made some substitutions since I didn’t have all of the ingredients on hand. I’ll let you guys know how my version turned out!

Enjoy what is left of your weekend! Here are some questions:

1. Do you like the current dotty background or the argyle version better? Any other creative ideas? I lack in this area..

2. Do you get stuck in food ruts where you eat the same things day after day like I do?

3. Have you read any of the books above? What are your thoughts on them? Did you enjoy reading them?

About Sweet and Savvy

My name is Savannah and I am a teenage girl and a complete optimist with passions for learning, helping people, nutrition and enjoying every minute of life to its fullest!

Posted on August 28, 2011, in Dietary Needs, Meals, Random Tangents, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. I like the new look, Savannah!

    Gah that ACT prep book brings back some horrible memories :(

  2. the dots are fun!!

    I get in food ruts sometimes, too….but i just try to go with the flow and eventually i fall out of them.

  3. I like the dots but i really like the argyle as well! i always get into food ruts..right now im stuck on cinnamon harvest cereal :)

  4. I love the polka dots!! Cute and fun, and great colours. I will just note that “healthy” is misspelled in your header ;)

  5. Good luck with the test tomorow! Your friday night sounds lovely, love little trips out like that…especially with ice cream ;) Ah girl i know what you mean, atm I’m stuck in a funk with different varieties of egg on toast, I guess just stop buying eggs or in your case, yogurt would be the solution but they’re just so dang good! I liked both backgrounds, maybe the dots more though…

  6. The Road is a great book…but it’s also a book that pushes you to the ground and kicks you in the stomach a few times just for fun. It’s one of my favourites, but I needed LOTS of breaks when reading it. Re: blog design advice, I actually really like your header. It’s very clean looking. If it were me, I’d go for a lighter background (even though I do like the white polka dots on purple background). I think the bright header with the bright background is maybe a bit hard on the eyes. (I know you asked for reactions, but I actually feel a bit bad saying that…)

  7. I like both backrounds, maybe the previous one a bit more though! And I get stuck in food ruts alllll the time, I actually had a post about breakfast food ruts because I seem to revolve around the same 5 breakfasts or meals during the week haha :)

  8. I love the pink…very upbeat :-)

  9. I think the background is cute! And I actually am in a food rut. I’ve been eating cereal for breakfast every morning for a while. I think I should probably go to the store though :)

  10. LOVE LOVE LOVE the new background..and I LOVE that it’s purple..you know that’s my favorite color :D
    Not to be a total nerd, but that was my favorite class- government & politics. I would really love to teach it one day! My passion is totally teaching..just hard to get a teaching job right now due to all of the budget cuts, but I WILL get there one day :)

  11. I love the dotted background! It really brings out your eyes. :) I know you will do great on the ACT! I do get into food ruts — I LOVE my nut butter on my oatmeal every morning. :D

  1. Pingback: Sweet Potato Fry Casserole « Sweet and Savvy

  2. Pingback: european textile news

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

