Even More Summer

First of all, I would like to thank everyone who put in their two cents and amazing support on my last post. So many people, women especially, feel as if they are under constant criticism with their weight and sizes. This paired with crazy media sources give so many people a skewed perception of what is “healthy.” Healthy is not all about being skinny!

Remember last week when I told you my summer had been extended until today because of renovation delays at my school?

Yea, well guess what.

They found asbestos in my school [that we have all probably been breathing in for years, anyway] and now school is not starting until Wednesday. Yes, please! I’ll take as MUCH summer as I can get! :)

Just because school has not started, I still had a first day today. I am taking one class at a university in my city four days a week, and classes started today. I feel all grown up, because this was my first class on a college campus! It was exciting, even though Calculus may not turn out to be! ;)

Since I could sleep in a bit, I woke up and immediately ate a yogurt and made myself a Reese Cup smoothie. Cold, creamy breakfasts scream summer to me! Oh, and have I mentioned how much I love peanut flour? Because I do. It makes everything amazing.

After class, I was completely starving, so I made a quick-lunch of peppers, fresh green beans, and a veggie burger topped with laughing cow swiss cheese.

image

The steam rolling off the green beans fogged up my camera lens. :/

And where did I find these great looking, fresh green beans you may ask?

image

At the Farmer’s Market. Along with some other great finds!

image
Gorgeous, fresh apples! I love apples, and these really put waxy supermarket apples to shame!

And no doubt, this is the best find at the market yesterday. This is the biggest cantaloupe I’ve ever seen in my life!

image
imageI had a bowl filled up when I was not even close to half way finished cutting this melon up! I was cutting for a solid 35 minutes, but let me tell you, it was totally worth it! It tastes amazing. I eat a piece every time I open my fridge… it’s a little dangerous for this much great fruit to be sitting in convenient reach every time I walk into my kitchen.

Question time:

I’m new to Farmer’s Market shopping. Do you go to a Farmer’s Market?

What is your favorite thing to get there and do you have any tips for buying local?

About Sweet and Savvy

My name is Savannah and I am a teenage girl and a complete optimist with passions for learning, helping people, nutrition and enjoying every minute of life to its fullest!

Posted on August 22, 2011, in Meals, Random Tangents, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. Ahh congrats again on the summer extension!!! Keep holding on girl, I am jealous of your delay :)
    And that is an enormous cantaloupe, I love when fruit is like that haha. I always try to find the biggest apples (especially Honey crisp, my favorite :) )

  2. I love the farmer’s market, but we don’t shop there very often — it’s more of a nice treat. :)

  3. I’ve been farmers market shopping ever since I can remember! My dad had taken me forever! We still go pretty much ever Sat morning :)

  4. i LOVE going to the farmer’s market – i’ve been going for years. there is one downtown and is only 5 minutes away from where i live, which is awesome. the amount of fruit and veggies my family buys at the farmer’s market is ridiculous but we eat it all within a week! the summer fruits are definitely my favorites.

  5. Ahh! You’re dual enrolling (taking a college course while in HS)?!? THATS SO EXCITING! I did that my senior year and fell in love with college and ended up hating HS. lol. &good luck with calc!! :)

  6. What a smart cookie– taking college calculus in high school! I hope the class goes well :)

    I do not go to a Farmers Market, although my roommate has been trying to get me to hit up a local one that she supposedly has been to. It might not be a bad idea!

  7. Wow! A delayed start to school again – not bad! I love shopping at Farmer’s Markets but I don’t get to go as often as I like. However, when I do go, I love purchasing the ‘one of a kind’ items like some sort of delicious nut butter from a local company–can’t get it at any old grocery store!

  1. Pingback: WIAW « Sweet and Savvy

  2. Pingback: Apples can taste like Peppers « Sweet and Savvy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

