Impatience

Good morning! Looking out my window, it is an absolutely gorgeous Sunday morning, despite the fact that the weather channel is calling for a ridiculously high chance of intense thunderstorms today. For now.. I’m going to ignore this and enjoy the sunshine! :)

I woke up this morning around 7 am, and read some news headlines, blogs, twitter updates, etc. on my phone while dozing in and out of conscience until 8 o’clock. By this time my tummy was rumbling extraordinarily loudly so I meandered my way down stairs to find some food. The rest of my family was still asleep, so in attempts to not wake anyone up, I grabbed a yogurt out of the fridge to tide me over. I tend to be extremely loud in the kitchen; I drop things a lot, run into things, set the fire alarm off, you know, things like that. Keeping this in mind, I did not attempt to make a real breakfast for yet another hour, and by this time, I was ravenous. I think the yogurt made me even hungrier.

I had pancakes in mind for this morning. They did not turn out well. This was such a fail it isn’t even funny. I have been inspired by Katie’s Double Chocolate Brownie Batter pancake recipe she posted a few days ago, and wanted to alter them a bit to have more protein. I was so hungry and impatient at this point, that I kind of stopped looking at the recipe, was too lazy to get out proper measuring cups, and was trying to rush through the cooking process. I also completely ignored the part on Katie’s post that said these pancakes made 5-6 silver dollar┬ásize pancakes. I looked at my batter in the bowl and said, “eh, doesn’t look like too much batter,” and continued to dump the entire batter on the skillet. Once again in hindsight, that was really stupid.

oh, how I wish this would have been the outcome..

Let’s just say it didn’t turn out well. The recipe definitely has potential to be AMAZING. I will try again when my vision is not clouded by hunger. Maybe I’ll get luckier! :)

At least I have a spaghetti squash that I picked up at Kroger’s yesterday! Hopefully I will get one cooking success in today like I did the last time I cooked squash!

Enjoy your Sunday! :)

About Sweet and Savvy

My name is Savannah and I am a teenage girl and a complete optimist with passions for learning, helping people, nutrition and enjoying every minute of life to its fullest!

Posted on August 14, 2011, in Meals, Random Tangents. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Haha aw don’t worry girl, we all are bound to have meal flops every now and then. I’m confident that I have at lease one meal flop a week!

  2. I’ve done that before! But now I want to try this recipe :)

  3. Good luck with the squash! I am eager to see what you come up with :)

  4. Pancakes are a knack, and it only takes a little practice before you become your own short-order chef :-) I once heard a top chef here in the UK say that he always ruins the first pancacke of the day: so I think we humble day-to-day cooks are allowed a little slack…

  5. I LOVE spaghetti squash!! I used to eat it at least once a week last spring! It is a great alternative for spaghetti noodles! Enjoy!

  6. Spaghetti Squash!? those things rock! have fun haha :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

