Some Perspective

I get caught up in the monotony of day to day activities too often. Sometimes it is hard to see past tedious things, and appreciate what a beautiful thing life actually is, no matter how fragile it may be.

It seems so silly that I spend time on paying attention to calories and numbers on a scale. If I die tomorrow, I probably would have wished my last meal included peanut butter and chocolate instead of lettuce.

Okay.. I realize that eating dessert for every meal, in case it happens to be my last, is not  a good way to live.  I would be about 599 pounds if I did that, but you understand my point.

My Birthday last year in PR.

I was so happy in this picture. I was not calculating in my head the number of calories and lack of nutrients in that cake in front of me. I enjoyed it. I loved it. Probably got a stomach-ache from eating too much of it, but I enjoyed it. It was my birthday.

In the past year, my strive and dedication to become healthy has definitely opened my eyes to a lot. I am a lot healthier. I have no regrets about my lifestyle change, even though my initial way of counting calories was probably not the smartest way to start. I am glad I started somewhere though. This time last year, I never would have considered eating less packaged and processed foods. I never even thought about all the extra chemicals and preservatives thrown into my food. I did not even have an interest in nutrition, and now, it is one of my largest life passions.

Limiting myself is not good. If you try to live a healthy life by depriving yourself and defining your life by numbers, you will never, ever be happy. My last birthday cake you see up there? I probably ate a good three – five pieces of that raking in a couple thousand calories. Have I become an unhealthy, overweight person because of that? No. Not in the slightest. While I would never make a habit of eating like this, you cannot be perfect all the time. This is something that I am working on letting go, and I am improving, slowly but surely. My path in life isn’t completely in my control, so I have to embrace everything life throws at me. :)

This is a bit in-depth for a weekend. On another note, I have some links I would like to share.

Being Optimistic May Reduce Risk of Stroke – http://pulse.me/s/MVxz

Stay hydrated and cool this weekend, I knew Jacob, and his loss his a true tragedy. Please keep the Bower family and those who were closest to him in your prayers.

The Great Fundraising Act Tomorrow!! Please participate for Susan!

About Sweet and Savvy

My name is Savannah and I am a teenage girl and a complete optimist with passions for learning, helping people, nutrition and enjoying every minute of life to its fullest!

Posted on July 24, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. What a beautiful post! I have gone through the same cycle and this is how I feel. Leave room for a treat. I tried to be 100% perfect all of the time (even perfect in the foods I ate), and it really was hard on me. But now I know — Balance and Moderation. That’s the way of life I should strive for. A piece of cake won’t hurt me if I eat it only once in a while. Balance.

    • Thank you so much. And I feel Exactly the same way. Anything In moderation is perfectly fine. If I want a Brownie, piece of cake, then I should Have one if I enjoy it. I’m so glad to hear I’m not the only one like this!:)

  2. I definitely get what you mean. It’s funny to think that my blog name is thecookieboss, but I barely ever want to bake because of all of the calories. I usually only bake on special occasions. I used to bake a lot as a kid and I never came close to being overweight and I still never have. If I die tomorrow, I would regret some of the things I’ve done too, even things non-food related.

    You’re really brave for writing about this sort of thing.

    • That is insane! It’s crazy to think how much we time we spend fretting about little things, when in the big picture, it would not matter at all. I’m glad to see you’re enjoying baking! :)

      Thanks!

  3. Eating goodies is a good thing! (hence the name ;)) If you have a piece of cake or some chocolate a few times a week, it’s perfectly find as long you’re eating fairly healthy most of the time. Or if you want a decadent piece of chocolate cake, have it! Just eat a lighter dinner. It’s all about balance. Live life, eat the things you love in moderation, and enjoy! :)

  4. I completely get what you mean. Finding that balance and letting it come naturally is so tough, i’m still finding mine but it sounds like you are on the right path! :)

  5. What a beautiful post.
    I agree 100%, when people go on diets and say that they are going to kick everything unhealthy out of their eating habits– I feel like its totally unrealistic. In the real world, there will always be food temptations and I think it’s healthy to let yourself have that piece of cake every once in a while!
    You have a great head on your shoulders & a beautiful heart. Keep up the great work :D

  6. It is totally unrealistic! No one is going to be Tosca Reno [probably butchered that spelling], except, well, her! I admire that but it is not for me!

    Thank you so much for your encouragement. <3

  1. Pingback: Seven Links « Sweet and Savvy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 45 other followers

